Does it really help that I know it’s stress making me want all this Bacon?

Day two of the Whole 30 began as a pretty good day.  After yesterday’s issues with not wanting to eat all day I got up and was actually hungry.  After eating some food and spending some time hanging out with a friend it was time to head into the gym, and this is where my day took a turn.  Part of doing this Whole 30 is understanding motivations for why I eat what I do and why I’m hungry when I am.  At certain points I question if I’m actually hungry or if there’s some other motivation pushing me to eat.  This afternoon I wanted a pot of coffee and a pound of bacon, it was 3:30 and I had just pulled over to the side of the road with a flat tire.  Now I didn’t actually want them that very minute, but I knew that is what I wanted to eat after I figured out how to get myself back moving and got done in the gym.  So that’s to the Whole 30 I understood that it was the stress of now having to come up with $700 for tires for my truck that was pushing me towards that amazing combo of Coffee and Bacon.  It’s my favorite meal, actually there are often weeks where if you rotate a few other players in it shows up five times in my meal planning.  But I resisted, I have limited myself to two cups of coffee before 2pm for this 30 days, and already it’s trying my patience, also I had no approved Bacon in the house to make so I skipped that also.  I instead got my tire changed and went into the gym, suffered for the better part of an hour doing double unders, burpees, and toes to bar and then went home.  Settling on a salad with chicken and some veggies.  I had no coffee with dinner, and my one little nod to the less than fun nature of the afternoon was having a little applesauce with dinner.  I tried to get my mind off of the trip to the tire place tomorrow by working on doing stuff around the house and it did help for a while.  So Whole 30 was it good that I knew it was the stress of finding a lot of money while unemployed that was pushing me towards certain food choices, I guess so.  There’s still a part of me that dislikes you for keeping me from fulfilling that desire.  Overall lesson learned, when you know that you need tires, don’t put off getting them for months, instead get a plan together and go buy them, I own the car, sometimes such things have to be done.  

Leave a Reply

