And like that I’m back

Wow, I can’t believe that such a break has come to my writing on this thing.  I guess moving cross country, seeing family members you haven’t seen in six months and learning that your sister is going to have her first baby can distract a guy.  So this one will be a bit of a catch all of the last two weeks and then I’ll need to make sure to keep talking about what is going on.  First I came home to spend the holidays with the family and to job hunt.  So I am back in the great Chicago area, if you would like to invite me to visit your affiliate and do a WOD I’d love to drop by, or you can come see me at Crossfit DNA in Dyer, IN.  That’s my new home and the group there has been great.  Jake is an exceptional coach and I’m really liking getting to be a part of a new crew day in and day out.  Also being around the family has been great and I’ve really enjoyed seeing everyone more often than I have been able to in years.  I also have started to make a connection with a lady and while it’s early I think that we are having fun.  Now if only I could get her to eat better and do CrossFit.  Is it sad that these are the things that make me doubt the long term potential of this thing?

I’m still on the hunt for work but there have also been developments on that front as well.  This winter I’m getting my Cert and I’m going to be a CrossFit coach, I’m also going to look for other work in the classroom and get some experience teaching.  I think that I want to teach Jr High, and the plan is that I’ll do that and coach for a couple years.  In 2015 I want to open my own affiliate.  That will give me time to raise capital and scout locations to settle.  So if you’re an owner and you think you might want a guy with a sweet beard and a pretty interesting story we should talk.  I’m also going to be doing some other training such as getting my EMT this winter and looking forward to next summer and figuring out if I’m going to head east again or land somewhere else.  This is a huge change because to be honest I had decided that I would always be a Park Ranger, but the situation in the service right now just makes me think that I need to step away for a bit.  I may return at some point but for now it seems like a permanent job is just not to be.

The past two weekends I have done some other pretty great things.  Last weekend I competed in a competition at my old affiliate and got 5th.  I would have been higher but burpee box jumps hate me and I did horrible in the first WOD, I got second in the other one but it still wasn’t enough to get me a top three.  Yesterday I participated in the Mustache Clash and helped raise over $4000 for Cancer treatment with the crew at CrossFit Bloomington Normal.  Thanks to The Tiki for getting me to come out for it, I had a great time and there are some pictures and videos coming I’m sure.  Lastly I’m also working for the social media side of things for Blonyx, so if you’re in the market for supplements talk to me I’ll hook you up with a discount.

Leave a Reply

