Some things just take time

I’ve been following Outlaw for my six months out here and there are still things that I just can’t do yet.  I’m working hard on getting the different required movements down but it has been a long road and it is difficult to keep in mind that I’m still pretty new at a lot of these things.  In some ways I expected that by now I wouldn’t have much to learn but I’m humbled day in and day out at the areas that I can still improve greatly.  It’s been a great year but as I get closer and closer to the end of this one I’m confronted by a set of goals that I haven’t yet achieved.  I think that maybe things this year were a bit to ambitious in some areas and in others the move, and a change in priorities in my training may have limited my chances to achieve them.  But I have learned so many things in this past year I’m trying to stay positive and focus on that.  Also I’m looking at my progress in the things that I have learned.  Today I hit 21 ub Double Unders which is the most that I’ve ever done.  They felt really good too, more and more practice and I’ll be getting longer strings of them I’m sure.  I’m excited to get back into a more normal mode of training as well.  I love following Outlaw but I’m not sure that I’ll keep it going when I get back to Illinois. The programming there takes a lot of elements of Rudy’s training and scales them down to a more normal level.  That would allow me to go back to doing most of my work Rx, and it would let me do the work that the classes are doing.  And working out with others always feels better.  So I can improve by adding in extra training on those things that I need help in.  Getting better at my Doubles, getting Handstand Pushups, Handstand Walks, and Muscle Ups down.  And I can focus on doing more competitions over the winter.  The road from where I started to here has been a long one, but the road from here to where I want to end up is a long one as well.

Leave a Reply

