Two months mostly strict

Back in September I started to tighten up my intake and I discussed a few reasons why I was doing it.  It has now been two months of eating this way, some things have changed but most has stayed the same.  I feel that it has really helped me in a few ways but there are definitely some drawbacks to being this strict sometimes.  Before getting into all that though I wanted to cover what I’ve kept and what I’ve changed.  Since starting month two on October 1 I have allowed myself more coffee during my day.  I’m not back to the levels I was earlier in the summer, but I’m not limited to just one cup in the morning and on in the afternoon anymore.  Typically this means that I have an extra cup in the evening after my workout either with dinner or as a post dinner drink.  I think that the idea of post dinner coffee is something that has kind of come to me from my mother.  I can remember her having a cup after a meal as a kid, and she still does today.  Also I’ve allowed myself a little bit of snaking here and there.  I generally grab something on the way to the gym after work since it will be a few more hours till dinner.  After getting done with my Outlaw programming then I’d come home and make dinner eating sometime around 8 usually.  My general guidelines for the project haven’t changed, I’m still taking in large amounts of water, I have also excluded iced tea from my drinks so it’s just coffee and water now.   Also I’m not taking in sweeteners with the exception of a celebratory So Delicious ice cream that I got when I was given rehire status to come back next spring.  And I’m trying to make sure that I’m leaning out by keeping an eye on getting enough veggies and not getting crazy with the carbs.  Overall the project this far has been a success, all the extra that I had at the beginning seems to have gone away and I’m pretty lean while keeping the muscle that I have worked to put on this summer.  I feel like body composition wise I’m in a pretty good place and I’m ready to take on the challenges of the holidays that will be in front of me.  I’m not entirely sure how things are going to go for the next two months.  I’m still on the job hunt and while I’m headed back to Illinois that’s not a guaranteed final destination as a park could hire me for the winter still and I would have to relocate again.  Otherwise I’m looking forward to a winter with the family, working somewhere, getting my L1 and trying to do a little coaching.  Sometime over the next week I’m going to put together some comparison pictures of beginning of the summer, mid-summer, and the project to see just how much I have changed during this whole thing.  I bet it will be eye opening to see how different I look. 

Leave a Reply

