Pushing forward and making changes

Today I got an email that I’ve been looking forward to since I sent one to the owner of the affiliate.  When I get back to Illinois I will be joining Crossfit DNA in Dyer, IN.  Looking forward to getting back into the routine of things with this great group of people.  I have visited there when I would go see the family and I feel like it really is a place that I can call home when I move back.  There’s still no word on when that will be but I have a group of people to sweat and suffer with and that makes the  transition much less intimidating.  Also as I said last night I’m going to keep the project going till I leave so in the upcoming weeks here’s what you can expect from me.

I am going to continue to try to post every night, but now I will go back to telling some stories from the last year as well as talking about the day in and day out of being a Park Ranger and keeping the challenge going.  I will also be allowing myself a little more coffee if I feel like having it, I’m having a third cup today after a brutal conditioning WOD I wanted some more and since I cut out tea I have a lower caffeine intake anyway.  I will continue to keep most of the other rules though, no boxed Almond/Coconut milk, nothing with any form of sugar in it, no Paleo Cheats, trying not to snack, drinking lots of water, and working out 6x week.  I’ll also try to keep the pictures of the progress going and hopefully have some new stories for everyone as the time goes by.  I wonder what I will look like to the people who haven’t seen me since May, how many things about me will have changed that I don’t notice but will seem major to someone outside of the transition phase.  I also wonder about the people who were a major part of my life before but now that I’ve been away for so long how will I come back into their lives.  We live in such a connected society yet I can count on one hand the number of people who have regularly contacted me outside of social media that aren’t a part of my family.  If you include Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, and this blog that number goes up but how many have I had a real conversation with?  The answer is very few.  Even the person that I spent years living with before I moved here has barely talked to me since I left.  What does that say for our society, my friendships in particular, and the people I allow into my life?  I don’t have an answer to that question but it bugs me, I’m sure that a major part of that blame is on me for getting focused on building a life here, but there are many times that I have texted people and never heard back.   I hope that when I return I can rebuild some of these friendships because they were some good friends that I would hate to lose.  Funny how we can be so close to each other yet always at arm’s length.  It’s the end of my weekend and tomorrow starts a week of work, officially it’s 10 days till I head to NYC, still looking for Paleo and Crossfit suggestions if you have any.  I have high hopes for the trip.

Pictures from today:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 thoughts on “Pushing forward and making changes

  1. I just visited NYC a month ago and my favorite place to eat was Bareburger. (http://www.bareburger.com) All of their meat is organic, all natural, free-range, grass-fed. They have lamb, bison, wild boar, elk, ostrich as well as beef and chicken. I ordered their assorted pickles and they we’re the best pickles I’ve ever had. You’ve got to check them out if you haven’t before.

    I also went to the new Reebok CrossFit store/gym on 5th ave. Very cool space but the drop-in fee was pretty steep, but that’s how it is at every box in New York.

    I hope you have a great trip!

Leave a Reply

