Three weeks down and one to go

Finishing up the third week strict, and it feels good.  There’s something about challenging yourself by placing limits on what you’re doing to make you more mindful of the day.  This past week has shown that to me more and more.  I think about things more, from what I eat and when, to how my body is reacting to just how I spend my time.  It has been a good week and a week that had a lot of things happening.  I have some other thoughts that I want to put into other posts, I’m going to give them their own page I think because they are something that I don’t want lost in the shuffle of my rambling about the project.  This post will discuss one of the best things to happen to me in a long time.  I competed in a beard competition.  Yeah that’s right a competition about beards, it was awesome, I met other people of admirable facial hair development and while I didn’t win I had a good time and got a sweet t-shirt.  I’m going to post up the pictures and let you see just what I’m talking about.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I don’t even want to try to caption all those pictures, but here’s a basic rundown of the night.  There were 10 categories that were judged with a first, second, and third in each.  I competed in the big category, full beard natural.  No products or styling aids allowed, just year beard and it’s growth and it was under 12″ in length.  I had a great time there and hung out with people from a few different groups.  It was good to see so many people who loved having a beard and while I would have loved to have won, just being around such a great group of people means that I will definitely be looking to do more of these events in the future.  Just one more thing that I would have never had the confidence to do a year ago, here I am taking it on.  Thanks to the new confidence I have in myself from this past year of Crossfit and Paleo.  I don’t know when my next competition will be, but if you’re around Chicago I may be trying to rope you into starting a bearding club when I get back.

Leave a Reply

