Karen, oh how I hate you

Karen, oh how I hate you.  The first part of the required workout for week 4 was Karen.  To those not familiar with this horrible WOD, this is 150 Wall balls with a 20lb medicine ball.  To actually make it through the entire workout you would need to do all 150, plus 90 Double Unders with a jump rope, and then 30 muscle ups.  Needless to say this guy would not be completing the entire workout under the twelve minute time cap.  But I had a plan, and I was going to rock out the Wall balls and then look like an idiot trying to get the Doubles.  I was not good at them, actually I’m still not good at them.  I don’t know if it’s my white boy lack of rhythm that betrays me on it or what.  But I just cannot get into the correct flow to string them together.  The ones I do get look pretty ridiculous.  I wasn’t even considering the muscle up phase because I knew that I wouldn’t get that far.  Backing up for a minute to the Wall balls, I had to get through those first, and I knew it was going to be a challenge.  Sending a 20 pound medicine ball from your chest to a target 10 feet up on the wall and catching it was enough.   Knowing that the target was only 6 inches across made it more difficult, and the full squat that you had to do with the ball held under your chin was no joke either.   Stringing all 150 together with no breaks was not an option; I knew it so I had to make a plan.  I was going to break it up into 25’s.  I figured that if I did 25 at a time, then took a breath and started back up again I would do alright.  And I did, finishing that part of the workout in 7:22.  Not a bad time at all, I followed that up by spending the next four and half minutes trying to get the Doubles and to illustrate just how bad I was, I did thirteen of them.  I’m sure that now I could get a few more, but even now six months later I’m not sure that I would get all 90 done in the time left. 

                What did this week teach me though?  Well having to do 150 reps of a movement pushed my mental toughness.   Not even halfway through my shoulders started to get fatigued, but I pushed on, breaking 100 my legs burned really bad, but I pushed on.  I had a plan and I was going to stick to it,  I knew that no matter what I had to finish, and that I was going to make it through.  Secondly this week brought me some new confidence in doing the doubles.  I still don’t do them well, but it was a solid 4 and a half minutes of practice, they weren’t pretty but just getting them helped.  Lastly pushing myself to get through my body once again surprised me with its response.  I knew that physically my body was on board with this, it craved the challenge and the feeling after the workout was over.  Mentally I also craved the challenge, no matter how much I moaned about it I wanted to see where I ranked, and each week I saw that I wasn’t at the top, but I was never last either.  There were always people that struggled like me and put up numbers about the same as mine.  I saw that I was beating people too, and that’s always a good feeling to not be at the bottom.  There was one week left of the Open, I knew that I wouldn’t be headed to regionals, but I knew that from the start.  I also knew that I had done better than I thought I would on some of these and that now I needed to do some other competitions to see just how I matched up locally.

Leave a Reply

